1. Please update your bookmarks to use https://www.edcforums.com/
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Zippo vs. IMCO windproof lighters: 10-year review

Discussion in 'Gear Reviews' started by Mark Greenman, Jan 30, 2012.

1. Mark Greenman
    • Sponsor - Manufacturer

Mark Greenman Loaded Pockets

[​IMG]

I’ve been playing with lighters since I was 5 years old, after my mom showed me how to use a BIC because “it’s safer than playing with matches.”

At first my lighters were used for lighting fireworks, and then, as I became older, they were also used for smoking.

Smoking and lighting fireworks are the two most demanding environments a lighter can be put through. Smokers will be using their lighter 1-40 times a day, every day, depending on their habit. Meanwhile, the visco cannon fuse found on most commercial fireworks ejects large quantities of ash and carbon fouling directly into the lighting mechanism, which will kill most lighters over time.

There have been three lighters in my life that have been able to withstand the combined abuse of smoking and pyrotechnics, and they are the BIC, the IMCO, and the Zippo.

[​IMG]

They are all fine lighters, and any one of them will serve its user well. For most of the population, the BIC is perfectly adequate — which is why they sell 5 million every single day of the year.

However, for my uses, I require something more. While the BIC is a very rugged and reliable lighter, it is not windproof. Whether I’m lighting up on the freeway, or trying to light a bottle rocket before a car comes up the road, having a lighter that won’t blow out when I need it most is an essential requirement for me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=2RHEjneBRak