1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Where to start looking?

Discussion in 'Watches' started by Shur, Mar 21, 2014.

1. Shur
    • In Omnia Paratus

Shur Loaded Pockets

I've been wearing a Casio PRG-80T for a little over 10 years now and while I really like the watch it is looking pretty beat up and doesn't hold a charge like it used to. And I like new things, and new shiny things.

I've looked at some of the newer models and have picked one that I like but I'd like some help finding some other options.

I'm looking for:
    Durable: Being scraped against metal edges and concrete shouldn't destroy the watch. A recessed glass would probably work best. This includes waterproofedness that would handle swimming/shallow diving.

Titanium: I get something similar to heat rash from plated metals and even stainless steel. (The heavy 'shoulders' of the pro trek seem to lift the case back away from my skin just enough to not cause problems)

Stop watch: used at work. Rarely but still useful.

Atomic time: I'd like to take my laziness one step further and eliminate those nasty button presses every half year. (Do these watches automatically do DST?)

Solar:I like that the watch stays sealed for long periods of time.

Bonus:
    Sunrise/Sunset: Sounds cool

Compass: very rarely gets used but of the ABC options I think I like it best.

Darn, Barometer too: I know I'm describing a typical ABC watch now, but I kind of like this feature. It hardly ever gets used but I still like it.

I don't need (and certainly don't want on my main screen at all times):
    Tide info
    Phase of the moon
    World time
    Hands (most digital/analogue mixes don't do it for me)

As far as I'm aware the only watches in this kind of class are made by Casio and Suunto. Am I wrong and missing out on something?

Thanks for reading.

Last edited by Shur, Mar 26, 2014
  2. northwest

northwest EDC Junkie!!!