1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

What eye damage can a flashlight do?

Discussion in 'Flashlights & Other Illumination Devices' started by TrackJack, Apr 16, 2013.

1. TrackJack

TrackJack Loaded Pockets

Yeh simple question, but as i have just recently gotten into flashlights i came to wonder.

What would happen if i looked into my 400 lumen flashlights beam? And no, i'm not planning to have an evening alone with my flashlight looking into it's shinny beam. But as i fumble around and do my every day stuff i have dropped it more than once, hence this thread. I also use this light at night when walking my dog and would feel really bad if i was to hurt it in any way.

2. tmedina

tmedina EDC Junkie!!!!!

Probably not a lot. Granted, I'm not a doctor, or even an eye doctor (no, I'm not going to try and spell "ophthalmologist" correctly), but highly infrequent exposure won't lead to damage.

I say this based on the fact that there are much brighter lights out there - and lights that aren't as bright, but have much more focused beams - and there are not reports of eye injuries or damage. And I'm pretty sure flashlight-specific forums like CPF or Budgetlights would be all over any such reports.

Likewise, I don't know of any reports of injury to animals from casual exposure.

TrackJack likes this.
  3. tmedina

tmedina EDC Junkie!!!!!

Now, if you take a 1,000+ lumen light, hold it up to your eyeball and push the button...let us know how it works for you. :frantic:

4. TrackJack

TrackJack Loaded Pockets

Thanks tmedina :)

5. TrackJack

TrackJack Loaded Pockets

Haha! If i did own one, a day would come where i was stupid enough to drop it and end up with a focused beam right in my face. Will let you know when that day comes ;)

6. tmedina

tmedina EDC Junkie!!!!!