1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Upgrade Surefire E1B Backup?

Discussion in 'Flashlights & Other Illumination Devices' started by WoodenChicken, Oct 10, 2015.

1. WoodenChicken

WoodenChicken Loaded Pockets

First of all, I am not very technical on the flashlights, so excuse my ignorance. I have an old Surefire E1B Backup, the ones that had 80 lumens as a high setting I believe.
    Love the light, but lights have become much brighter since this one was made.

Is there a way to upgrade this for more lumens? Or someone I can send it to (preferably). thanks in advance!

2. trfkcop

trfkcop Loaded Pockets

You could buy the newer LED lens from Surefire. New ones are around 200 Lumens, or you could use it as an excuse to buy another light!

WoodenChicken likes this.
  3. Donut
    • GITD Manix 2XL Owner

Donut Loaded Pockets

I think if you were going to do it, you would be buying the whole head. You would unscrew your head, throw it in the garbage or sell it, then screw the new head on.

It might be a comparable price to buy a whole light then keep your E1B for around the house or sell it as a whole light.

You might want to note that I think you are overlapping the time period when Surefire changed their Lumen ratings. I remember the E2DL was 100 or 120 lumens, then they changed how they do the lumen ratings and re-released the light in a 200 lumen package. You might get a new version and it might not be much brighter.

4. Flash Owl

Flash Owl Loaded Pockets

I think that light is still fine. Its 80 lumens is deceiving low for what it actually puts out. Its closer to 120 lumens, with a throw beam. If you like the beam on your e1b, it'll be hard to find another light, similar in size that will throw further, unless it was another surefire.

You can try and mod the light yourself, or send it out to be modded. Xpg2 works very well with its optic.