1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Traveling tips

Discussion in 'Travel' started by jeffmcc, Mar 26, 2020.

1. jeffmcc

jeffmcc Loaded Pockets

Hey all!

So I am a photographer and I travel A LOT. I am working on minimizing down to just one carry-on bag with my camera gear, laptop and clothes. Why do I want to travel like this? Because it makes everything so much easier! I often am in countries where renting cars is not an option or it's just crazy expensive. Lugging around a backpack plus a suitcase is a pain! The cost is another factor. I can save a ton by flying with just carry on and in many cases if I just have one backpack I can fly extra light and save even more.

I have been slowly trimming down the amount and sizes of my photo gear that I need for the type of work I do. It's still a work in progress but I'm getting there. I recently bought an ultrabook and I can say from experience it was one of my best investments yet! It saves so much space and weight! I have also been working on my clothing situation. It is a little challenging as I can't wear shorts all the time for what I do. I need dressier clothes for when I go to my corporate work. I am working on simplifying all this though.

I currently have an Incase Pro DSLR backpack and a small duffel bag but I would like to combine the two. Currently I am working on figuring out the best bag for this. I am currently looking at the FStop gear Tilopa, Peak Design Travel Backpack and the bag that Peter McKinnon made.

What travel tips do you have? How about traveling like this but with a knife? Normally I would pop any multi-tool or knife I might need for a trip in my checked luggage but in this case I wouldn't be able to. What do you do in this situation?

2. EZDog

EZDog EDC Junkie!!!!!