1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

The Surefire Pen: 2 Year Review w/ 20+ pics

Discussion in 'Gear Reviews' started by Mark Greenman, Nov 29, 2011.

1. Mark Greenman
    • Sponsor - Manufacturer

Mark Greenman Loaded Pockets

I’m a gear nerd at heart, and a writer by trade, so over the last 2 years I’ve looked at the Surefire pen from both perspectives. I've used this pen every single day, more than any other piece of kit in my EDC, and it is now my favorite piece of gear.

The most obvious feature of the Surefire Pen is its durability. The shaft is made from hard anodized aircraft grade aluminum, while the nib, pocket clip, and end cap are made of 303 stainless steel.

The result is a 1.8oz bruiser of a pen that will probably last as long as the written word.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

My Montblanc developed a hairline fracture in the cap after only a few months of back pocket carry, and had to be sent back to the factory to be repaired. By comparison, in two years of serious use, my Surefire barely has a scratch on it – proof of the excellent hard anodizing used in its construction.

When you consider the Surefire costs about 1/3 the price of a Montblanc, and is made in the USA, it’s even more impressive.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I realized just how ludicrously tough the SF pen was a few months ago, when I visited a camping store in lower Manhattan. The owner showed me his own EWP-01, and how he practiced striking by smashing it over and over again into a 2×4. This is the second 2×4 he has gone through, and he told me he has also struck concrete blocks a few times- and chipped the concrete!

[​IMG]