1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Tangent: Recap sharps?

Discussion in 'First Aid Station' started by kirbysdl, Jan 30, 2013.

1. kirbysdl
    • In Omnia Paratus

kirbysdl Loaded Pockets

For the pros out there, are you taught/instructed/required to recap sharps before putting them into a sharps container? At work, we (non medical staff) are told to put sharps into a sharps container without recapping them, e.g. if we have to self-administer insulin or medicines. However, the staff at most doctor's offices, clinics, etc. I go to seem to recap before disposing. This question is only for cases where there's an appropriate sharps container around.

Just curious. =)

2. nemoaz

nemoaz Loaded Pockets

No, you don't recap them.

littlequick likes this.
  3. kennyk

kennyk Empty Pockets

I work in a hospital as a Medical Technologist (lab tech) and I was taught not to recap, but if you had to, you use the scoop technique to prevent an accidental stick.

4. littlequick
    • GITD Manix 2XL Owner
    • In Omnia Paratus

littlequick EDC junkie

Just don't recap, be safe and aware.

5. kirbysdl
    • In Omnia Paratus

kirbysdl Loaded Pockets

That makes perfect sense. Thanks for the confirmation. =)

I take it "scoop method" means you lay the cap on its side on a desk and scoop it up with the needle?

6. =RedFox=

=RedFox= Loaded Pockets

Yes
    Seems like most syringes I see now have some sort of mechanism (needle pulls back in or something covers it) that makes recapping redundant anyway

7. MedicInTraining
    • In Omnia Paratus

MedicInTraining Loaded Pockets