1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

springfield xd holster

Discussion in 'Handguns' started by lazybusinessman, May 24, 2011.

1. lazybusinessman

lazybusinessman Loaded Pockets

finally bought my first handgun! a springfield xd 4" .40. now to find a good holster for both open carry and concealed. i only plan on using the open carry one if i go out shooting etc. concealed well...you can figure that one out.

since im new to this anyone have any suggestions? i want something comfortable for both, im not a small guy by any means. price/material is not a huge deal breaker, i just want something decent that wont fall apart right away.

2. LivingUpNorth

LivingUpNorth Loaded Pockets

I have a brown leather pancake holster from Blackhawk! for my XD-45 Tac 5":
    http://www.blackhawk.com/product/3-Slot-Pancake-Leather-Concealment,1148,1418.htm

I like the clean/classy looks of the brown leather. Plus, it rides higher than a normal OWB holster for better concealment. You can wear it straight up-and-down or canted. The 5" barrel on mine protrudes from the bottom of the holster by exactly 1 inch, so you shouldn't have any problems with your 4".

I used to have a Serpa holster, which I loved for its functionality, but it stuck out considerably and was therefore no good for concealed carry.

3. lazybusinessman

awesome thanks for the reply. i was looking at the serpa holster as a possibility. but i do like that pancake one as well. im not going to be carrying concealed for awhile until i get my license (even though i live in az and dont need it) but still want a decent OWB for other activities.

4. IMWILSON
    • GITD Manix 2XL Owner
    • In Omnia Paratus

IMWILSON EDC Wizard

Take a look at Galco holsters, also you will need a belt made for wearing a holster.