1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Someone persuade me on the Delica!

Discussion in 'Knives' started by Southpaw, Oct 12, 2013.

1. Southpaw

Southpaw EDC Junkie!!!!!

Ok so here's the deal. Since I began following the philosophy of EDC, there were certain items on my list that I've always wanted, but for some weird reason never got around to pulling the trigger. Well that list is down to one. Some of the items that have been bought and checked off the list are:

-Leatherman PS4
    -Spyderco PM2
    -Ontario Rat 2
    -Spyderco Chaparral

And there's ones more on the list: Delica 4.

Yes we all know it's light weight, great locking mechanism, vg-10 steel, thin, ergonomic, sharp as a laser, and it's affordable.

I think the reason why I haven't pulled the trigger yet is, the frn. I have no experience with it and It just doesn't seem strong to me, like it won't hold up. EDC to me is general cutting but what if there's a time where I would need to use it for something heavier? Will it hold up? Idk maybe I'm just being picky.

So to those with experience on the Delica, tell me why I should or shouldn't get it. The pros and the cons as well.

2. J_C
    • In Omnia Paratus

J_C Loaded Pockets

Mine seems sturdy enough, but then I just use knives for cutting things. What exactly were you thinking about doing with your that would break the handles?

3. Southpaw

Southpaw EDC Junkie!!!!!

I think I'm asking too much of the darn thing. General edc tasks like opening packages, boxes, food prep, and the occasional zip tie.

But I guess i'd like for it to be my overall beater knife. When a knife is needed, I want it to perform.

4. stax
    • In Omnia Paratus

stax Loaded Pockets

FRN is plenty strong, within its weight class. Most complaints seem to focus on the plastic feel. I wouldn't worry about strength.

Southpaw likes this.
  5. shrap

shrap Loaded Pockets