1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

smartphone? worth it?

Discussion in 'Electronic Devices' started by BBoost, Dec 17, 2010.

1. BBoost

BBoost Empty Pockets

i have always been the bare minimum type of guy. especially when it comes to cell phones. i am a bicycle mechanic by profession but im very active and i can be very rough on my EDC items. most smartphones are now touch screen which i feel might be too fragile for my liking? also is spending 200 even with a 2 year agreement worth it just for apps and what not? my "free phone with 2 year agreement" has always sufficed, but my gf just got a droid and i feel i could benefit from having one, just weighing out the pros and cons and price? any comments/ thoughts?

(Verizon related phones/plans only please)

2. mbs4298

mbs4298 Loaded Pockets

Smart phones are basically small computers now, especially the Droids. If you want a way to always access the internet, email, facebook, etc. they are great devices. I have a Droid X on Verizon and love it. I have games and apps on there but that wasn't the selling point for me. I loved the screen size and speed of it. It handles email really well which is really important for me and has a great calendar and apps to get you organized. Also, the large amount of storage space they have make it a complete multimedia device capable of holding music and movies like an iphone or ipod touch.

As far as durability, I am rough on phones too and have dropped mine several times and haven't had any problems. The Samsung Fascinate is supposed to have a nearly indestructible screen that a co-worker has tested a few times already. And the insurance on a $500 retail phone is always worth it.

You just have to see if the convenience, connectivity and multimedia features outweigh the initial cost and monthly data plan.

3. Monocrom

Monocrom Loaded Pockets

Nope! Not worth it.