1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Smartphone AFTER The ****

Discussion in 'Electronic Devices' started by reppans, Feb 5, 2011.

1. reppans

reppans Loaded Pockets

Hey all, noob here and I was wondering if many of you have thought through how you could use your smartphones AFTER the ****. I'm talking about after the cell phone towers have either shut down, or are so overloaded, there's no hope of receiving any data, making a call or even texting. So, assuming you still have a working smartphone (non-EMP event), but with no cell connection, will it become a paper weight.... or a tool?

Here's what I've come up with so far, and I'm looking for more ideas and useful Apps from you good folks. BTW, I have an Iphone.

- Voice recorder/Notepad for notes to self
    - Compass
    - Screen for illumination
    - Address book for location of friends and relatives
    - Camera and video cam for documentation. I often use the camera as a photocopy machine, for example, always taking a picture of the trailhead maps before starting a hike. Also keep photos of important documentation, in a password protected file if necessary (eg, PictureSafe).
    - PDF reader (Goodreader or iBooks). Lots of free product manuals, survival books, and fiction available. Here's a couple of sites for survival stuff clicky and clicky - choose your paranoia. Goodreader can display a PDF in pure text so you don't have to deal with the formatting of some PDFs on the small screen.