1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Sketches and Graphics vs Notes

Discussion in 'Pens, Pencils, Notebooks, and Notebook Covers' started by tbzbbt, Jun 4, 2019.

1. tbzbbt

tbzbbt Loaded Pockets

After following the dicussion about systems of note-taking in another thread it raised the question for me: to what extent/proportion do you illustrate you notebooks with diagrams or annotations? I'm not talking about an artist's sketchbook here, but one in which a mixed approach is adopted. Do you draw beacuse it makes sense (eg. connector pin-out); because you want to recakl a pattern (eg. travel observation of archtecture feature); or simply because doodles communcate the idea better?

Do the tools of your EDC enable this?

tbzbbt

#1 tbzbbt, Jun 4, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2019
  2. twin63

twin63 Loaded Pockets

I rarely illustrate in my notebooks (probably because I'm not very good at it), but on occasion I will do a sketch because it's easier to visualize than to write a detailed description of what I need to remember.

I EDC a Rhodia Pocket Size Notebook (A7 w/ graph paper). It works well for notes and illustrations.

3. Tesla

Tesla Loaded Pockets

I'm not a doodler or drawer either. Agree the Rhodia notebooks (all types, but I use the top staple #11 pads--A7 lined) are great. If I did anything like that at all it would relate to wiring in a guitar amp or guitar or schematic type drawings. My grand-kids literally draw better than I do.

Moshe ben David and twin63 like this.
  4. twin63

twin63 Loaded Pockets

Come to think of it, one of the last diagrams I did was of a pedalboard I was building (to make sure I had the right number and length of patch cables). Hard to make rectangles and straight lines look bad!

5. Tesla

Tesla Loaded Pockets