1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Size opinions, please.

Discussion in 'Handguns' started by Coolz, Nov 7, 2012.

1. Coolz

Coolz Loaded Pockets

Hi folks,

My CPL is in the mail... so in the next week or so I will be purchasing my first pistol. I have a ton of questions, some of them answered here and on other forums, but I would like your opinion on one topic in particular:

How much different is carrying a 9mm compact with a single stack (like a Kahr PM9) and a double stack (like your typical compact Glock)?

I was completely sold on getting a lightweight single stack as my first pistol, simply because I figured that they are thinner and typically lighter, meaning I would be more apt to carry it. Then, I went to Gander Mountain (yeah, hey I'm new at this) and one of the gentlemen "enlightened" me, so to speak, of the differences in carrying the two types. After handling them (not firing them), I have to say the difference doesn't seem as drastic as I thought it would be.

I appreciate any input.

- Coolz

2. paaiyan

paaiyan Loaded Pockets

Shoot anything you might want to carry before you buy it. Make sure you're comfortable with it. No advice we can give will tell you what you're most comfortable with.

ac7ss, kd7dvd and Gnarly like this.
  3. Coolz

Coolz Loaded Pockets

Thanks for the reply. I totally get what you are saying, and I will absolutely get some range time in with my final choices. I'm more interested in the carry of the two types right now. Like, is the weight difference a big deal to you, personally? How about the width difference, which seems to be the differentiating factor with the single v double mags... That type of thing.

- Coolz

4. paaiyan

paaiyan Loaded Pockets