1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

shopping for a new EDC backpack...suggestions sought

Discussion in 'EDC Bags' started by bryan123, Aug 31, 2016.

1. bryan123

bryan123 Loaded Pockets

Hi, I'm a middle aged physician and I've always been a backpack guy rather than a briefcase guy. My work attire is a shirt and tie and immediately upon arriving at work I swap my jacket for a white coat to see patients.

I've been using the same LL Bean Deluxe Bookpak #D589 for the last 20 years, both at work and as a weekend bag and a carry-on bag when flying. It's just now beginning to show that it has seen better days, although the zippers and straps are as good as ever. This bag owes me nothing.

The bag is pretty filled every day as I carry a big loose leaf notebook, file folders, medical journals, a Franklin 5.5x8.5 Daytimer hybrid, lunch, as well as EDC stuff and a Vanquest PPM in the front organizer compartment.

I watched some videos from people like the Urban Prepper and PM 101 and I like my Vanquest PPM Husky. So I'm thinking about Vanquest. I'm torn between their backpacks and messenger bag (the larger one). I don't mind spending $ for something nice.

Suggestions please?

2. Redbeane

Redbeane Loaded Pockets

Hi Doc,
    I've carried a Vanquest 20 for the last two years. I've been very pleased with it. The organization is excellent. I carry a number of small items, and the trident has more compartments than I actually need. I've hiked with it, and found it carries well. There are plenty of videos on the trident to check out. BOL to you

bryan123 likes this.
  3. yugotprblms

yugotprblms Loaded Pockets

I will make the default suggestion of the Alpha One Niner Evade. It has a butt load of EDC capabilities, and probably would not make a middle aged physician look like a mall ninja. Haha

Gary Gross, Spyke and bryan123 like this.
  4. Ravenslair

Ravenslair Loaded Pockets