1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

SD with a 6 inch stick?

Discussion in 'Personal Security Devices & Self-Defense' started by alfanator, Jun 23, 2008.

1. alfanator

alfanator Loaded Pockets

I am new to this forum so forgive me; i am a little curious. Are all the folks here that carry around a kabuton, koppo or some sort of fighting magic marker all well trained in martial arts? I am not sure how effective such SD devices will be unless you already know very well the fundementals of the force that it is multiplying and the mindset it takes to use such force.

2. clutchUSMC

clutchUSMC Empty Pockets

I was a Green Belt Instructor in the Marine Corps Martial Arts Program, as well as going through the Non-Lethal Weapons Training Package, Basic Security Guard School, and School of Infantry in the service. None of that makes me Chuck Norris, but I can put you in some really fun wrist locks. And I carry a kabuton on my key chain. However I find it more useful as a 6in steel bar for prying, beating, poking, etc. I have much better options (i.e. 1911, OC spray, edged weapons) to use in a fight. However having handcuffed a few people I think it would be a great tool for a LEO, can be used for pain compliance techniques etc.

Now would it be effective in the hands of a 22 year old woman. I doubt it, unless shes been trained. But that holds true for anything you intend to use to save your life. You wouldn't give your wife a gun with no training, why hand her a kubaton or some OC and expect her to be able to employ it effectively. The most important tool you can have in a life threatening situation is your mind, now if your going to prepare yourself with some sort of EDC, why wouldn't you take the time to learn how to use that equipment?

3. alfanator

alfanator Loaded Pockets