1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Rescue Knives/Seatbelt Cutters. How necessary are they?

Discussion in 'Knives' started by quux, Jan 9, 2010.

1. quux

quux Loaded Pockets

I'm a little confused by the proliferation of 'rescue knives' a.k.a seatbelt cutters these days.

I've personally been in a rollover accident (came to rest upside down), and the seatbelt buckle let me loose without problem, as it is designed to do. As a volunteer fireman, all of the vehicle accidents I have responded to (admittedly only around 10 of them) were the same - the buckle was accessible, and unlatched without problem.

How many of you have been in situations where cutting the seatbelt was the best or only option? I guess what I am asking is: as clever as these things look, how useful are they really? Especially if you have a pair of EMT shears handy?

2. spydee

spydee Loaded Pockets

I'm a cop and used them once to cut open a tight t-shirt while performing CPR to attach an AED... of course I could've used EMT shears, if I had them on me at the time :) I never had to cut any seatbelts so far, so no experience there...

3. Larwyn

Larwyn Loaded Pockets