1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Portable Stoves (pics) - Esbit & Wetfire make Ramen!

Discussion in 'Other Every Day Carry Items' started by BubbaFett, Jun 29, 2013.

1. BubbaFett
    • In Omnia Paratus

BubbaFett Loaded Pockets

Rather than a review this is just my experience trying to make some survival-style Ramen on my porch today. I'm not an expert in these matters by any means, just a suburbanite that's been camping a few times but wants to be more self-reliant via some basic EDC and knowledge.

[​IMG]

You'll notice I didn't call it Esbit vs. Wetfire, and that's because rather than saying which one is "better," I am just sharing my findings on my particular needs today.

Conditions in Houston today are HOT (currently 102 degrees F) and slightly windy.

Items used in testing:

Wetfire Stove & Tinder tablets
    Esbit Stove & Fuel tablets
    Strikeforce Fire Starter
    Leatherman Sidekick
    Small coffee can
    Bic Lighter
    Zippo (butane torch insert)
    Ramen Noodles (beef)
    Beef Jerky

[​IMG]

My goal was simply to make some Ramen noodles on the porch with either or both stoves. Beef jerky added for flavor.

The Wetfire Stove claims to boil 1 cup of water in 5-6 minutes. For Ramen Noodles you need 2 cups, but I wanted to give it a shot anyway just to establish some baseline knowledge for myself.

[​IMG]

One cube of Wetfire Tinder did not even get close to boiling 2 cups of water in my small coffee can. I tried using two cubes of Wetfire, and it seemed to do a little better, but the hottest temperature I recorded with the food thermometer was ~160 F.

[​IMG]