1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Outside: Why Everyone Should Be Trained in Military First Aid

Discussion in 'First Aid Station' started by bmstrong, Oct 30, 2017.

1. Tromba

Tromba Loaded Pockets

Good article. I am a high school teacher and one of our inservice sessions this year was bleeding training for potential mass shooter scenarios in school. I found it to be the most informative and practical sessions I have ever been to. We learned about much of the same information in this article.

I have since built my own bleed stoppage kit that I keep in my pack all the time.

Medic1 likes this.
  2. SOS24
    • +2 Supporter

SOS24 Loaded Pockets

It is interesting how the recommendation in regards to tourniquets has changed over the years. I still remember the time when it was taught as a last resort which would almost certainly lead to amputation, but now it is recognized as a life saving measure and may not lead to amputation.

I have carried a first aid kit in my car for a while, but now I carry an Israeli bandage with gloves and a couple other first aid items on person. I am still considering adding a tourniquet to it but I don’t want the kit to be so big that I won’t carry it.

ProjeKtWEREWOLF likes this.
  3. volvoboy

volvoboy Loaded Pockets

It was a good article. I’ve always had a very large first aid/trauma kit in the cars and a good size home kit. None had tourniquets or Israeli bandages until 2 years ago. I carry a trauma kit in my backpack now, too.

The only real criticism I have of the article is that the kit recommendations are really cool, but the prices are likely to scare some regular folks away when they could build a serviceable kit much more cheaply.