1. Please update your bookmarks to use https://www.edcforums.com/
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

    Please visit following page for more information

    Dismiss Notice

Opera lets EDCF look bad

Discussion in 'Questions, Problems, and Suggestions' started by Fukurai, Nov 15, 2012.

  1. Fukurai
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Fukurai EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    4,768
    Hey ya'll,

    currently I'm using Opera and since yesterday it doesn't want to show all the pictures.
    My Internet was down for two days and is now working again. Facebook isn't a problem, but on EDCF there are parts missing, pictures aren't shown. I checked other sites as well and the pictures are mostly missing, but only in Opera. Firefox hasn't have this issue so far.
    So my question to you, does anyone has the same problem and maybe even a solution? I don't want to change the browser, because Opera is quite nice.

    Thanks
    Fukurai

    p.s. to the mods: If this thread should belong to the electronic forum, please move it there. I just started here, because it's not EDC-related

    p.p.s. if anybody finds a better thread title, feel welcome to tell it to me, I just couldn't figure out something better :D
     
  2. SAKplumber
    • The Omnia Paratus

    SAKplumber EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    29,783
    Likes Received:
    107,091
    Does it have settings that allows for blocking some things? I've known some wifi hot spots that weren't knife friendly;)
     
    Fukurai likes this.
  3. Fukurai
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Fukurai EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    4,768
    Well, I didn't changed anything in the settings. It might be an issue with the network here, I'll ask the admin here. But also newspage images? It seems all pics are screwed up, but the one in FB. Very strange...
     
  4. SAKplumber
    • The Omnia Paratus

    SAKplumber EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    29,783
    Likes Received:
    107,091
    Hmmm. Beats me. I'm not 'puter-literate enough to know:)
     
    Fukurai likes this.
  5. Fukurai
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Fukurai EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    4,768
    Ok, it really seems to be an Opera problem. FF is working slow, but at least showing all. Let's go troublehunting :D
     
    SAKplumber likes this.
  6. shrap

    shrap Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Have you tried changing your Opera Turbo settings?

    It's also possible that your connection is slower than normal and Opera just "gives up" earlier than other browsers.
     
    Fukurai likes this.
  7. Kilted1

    Kilted1 Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,503
    Likes Received:
    1,892
    I don't know anything about Opera but it could be you need to update your plugins like Flash Player and so on. When I'm at work I don't get half the pics since I lack the plugins for them.
     
    Fukurai likes this.
  8. Fukurai
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Fukurai EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    4,768
    Opera Turbo is off, but that could be one point. The Admin said something about some kinda big problems, maybe FB just doesn't uses that heavy pics.
     
  9. JPHing

    JPHing Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    7,397
    I'm having the same probs with Opera mini on my phone.
     
  10. Fukurai
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Fukurai EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    4,768
    I updated Flash Player recently, but it's worth a try.
     
  11. Fukurai
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Fukurai EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    4,768
    Just made sure that FP is new, so installed it again, but nothing changed :(
     
  12. Analog.Upload

    Analog.Upload Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    200
    opera user here ... and I am not having any issues.

    I must state that my Opera has been bugging me to up date and have not clicked yes yet so ... maybe new version bug of some sort?

    **note Opera user for ever and never had any major issues so possible fan boy take on the problem**

    edit: running Opera 12.02 and going to click yes to Opera 12.10 ... see what happens

    edit2: update complete and still not seeing any problems in the Opera browser with IMG loading.
     
    Last edited by Analog.Upload, Nov 16, 2012
  13. Dr Jekell
    • Administrator
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Dr Jekell I had fun once, It was awful.
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Have you tried emptying the cache, cookies etc & restarting your browser?
     
  14. Fukurai
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Fukurai EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    4,768
    Just used CCleaner to get rid of all temporary content, still nothing better. I'll have to do more research, but my google-fu is bad today, IDK what to search for...:D
     
  15. Fukurai
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Fukurai EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    4,768
    Actually I updated to 12.10 already at least last week. The problem appeared yesterday, so it could be something with the connection as well, still checking on this too.
     
  16. Analog.Upload

    Analog.Upload Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    200
    everything seems good here via Opera ....

    hate to not be able to help but Opera is [and has] always run great for me.
     
  17. Fukurai
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Fukurai EDC Junkie!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    4,768
    yeah, I had once some issues with it, it was very slow, but it improved again. Now there are the pics missing...
     
  18. Kilted1

    Kilted1 Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,503
    Likes Received:
    1,892
    But Firefox is working...? So it has to be some problem with Opera. Did you do anything to it just before this started? Change some setting or something? Perhaps a complete un/re-install is in order.
     
  19. shrap

    shrap Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Here's a possibility - maybe Opera is auto-downloading an update in the background, and it's massively slowing down your connection?
     
  20. Dr Jekell
    • Administrator
    • The Omnia Paratus

    Dr Jekell I had fun once, It was awful.
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    http://help.opera.com/Linux/12.10/en/cache.html