1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Newbie seeking gun advice

Discussion in 'Handguns' started by dml24, Oct 31, 2013.

1. dml24

dml24 Loaded Pockets

I am in the same situation as Kamm.

Looking for that first EDC/self-defense gun.
    Since I am a newb, looking for recommended .22s to learn with and for practice.

I am aware a .22 is not an ideal self-defense gun, but it would be better than no gun, and in most self defense situations I doubt a potential attacker is going notice what type of weapon might be pointing at him/her.

Looking forward to all reommendations too come... thank you all!!

2. Monty

Monty Loaded Pockets

I've got a Ruger SR22 and so far it has been very good to me. Nice understudy to a larger self-defense pistol.

Recommended.

And as soon as you feel comfortable, upgrade to an appropriate self defense caliber, you don't want to be relying on a .22 for self defense any longer than you have to.

Be honest with yourself, if you only think you are going to buy or can only afford one pistol, go ahead and get a nice 9mm and skip the .22.

MedusaOblongata and Ronin87 like this.
  3. swany66675
    • In Omnia Paratus

swany66675 Loaded Pockets

Ruger Mark III 22/45 it has a nice size to it and is just a blast to shoot, if you get board it easy to mod thousands of parts to mix to make it truly yours. This one is a 22/45 lite and its a ton of fun to play with, wish PA would change an arcane law and allow me to hunt with it.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

a35335, CSM-101, SAKplumber and 2 others like this.
  4. undert0e

undert0e Empty Pockets

I could not agree with you more. I carry a Glock 19 as my daily carry and have for years.

First be in the mindset that if you draw your weapon you are going to use it. Many states have serious repercussions for brandishing. Your intended target should never have enough time to realize your gun caliber. Just my $.02.