1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Newbie here. Surefire M6 a good 1st surefire?

Discussion in 'Flashlights & Other Illumination Devices' started by tipubuta, Aug 1, 2008.

1. tipubuta

tipubuta Empty Pockets

Hello all,
    Newbie here. Any input/advice on my 1st choice Surefire?

I have seen it up close and personal and also played with one recently and now I have an oppurtunity to actually get one at a special price, so Is there a rechargeable solution for this light? 20 min on HOLA looks very expensive but the output is outstanding.

Appreciate all comments.

TipuButa... :)

2. bigfoot

bigfoot Loaded Pockets

I guess it really all depends on what you want the light to do for you. SureFire is a great brand, with lots of different choices in lights. If you need 500 lumens I suppose the M6 is probably the way to go, especially if you are getting a good deal on one. Don't know much about the light personally, never used one. Whether there are 3rd-party aftermarket rechargeable solutions for it, dunno... you might check out Candlepower Forums. There are a lot of M6 users there

3. mrichelo

mrichelo Loaded Pockets

A Surefire M6 would not be my choice for my first Surefire. In my opinion the M6 is a special application tool. I would love to have one for my collection, and just to have a crazy bright light. But for me it is not practical.

Do you NEED 500 lumens? The flashlight itself is cheap compared to all the 123s it is going to gobble up. Approximately $27/hour to operate on high output at an average $1.50/ cell ordered online. One dozen batteries would last 40 minutes.

For my purposes at this point I would go with a LED Surefire product. Plenty bright, longer runtime.