1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Mid Priced Boots Recommendations

Discussion in 'EDC Clothing' started by thegrouch314, Nov 21, 2016.

1. thegrouch314

thegrouch314 Loaded Pockets

The pair of safety boots I've been wearing for the last two years has finally given up the ghost and so amount of glue on the sole is going to keep the water out this winter.

I'm looking for a pair of good boots in the £50-60 range, or $100 for you Americans.
    They need to have a steel toe and be waterproof. It'd be good if they look nice too but that's a secondary consideration.

And before you tell me to drop the cash on a pair of Redwings, I'm a broke student. When I have the cash I will

Thanks

2. mike3145

mike3145 Loaded Pockets

If the old boots lasted two years and you were happy with them, how about just going with a new pair with those? What brands are available to you or are you planning on ordering them online? How tall of a boot? When you say "waterproof" do you want a membrane (e.g., GoreTex)? Wolverine has a bunch of boots that list around $100-$130 that you should be able to find discounted to get you down to your $100 goal. Same for Timberland.

3. DannyX

DannyX Loaded Pockets

Check out Atlas from Germany. Paid 70 Euro and they're really comfy and also good looking (at least compared to the huge mass of butt-ugly working boots).
    Wore them on construction site for 1,5 years and they're still in very good condition.

4. Djs105

Djs105 Loaded Pockets

How about Red Wings? (Sorry, I couldn't help myself, I love mine going on like 8 years).

5. Blackheart

Blackheart Loaded Pockets

I can sympathize, but your target price makes it tough. I just bought an inexpensive pair of Wolverines, on sale, and they were $122 USD.

What I can tell you is to steer clear of Timberland. Had the soles separate on a pair with only light usage. I posted a pic somewhere around here...