1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

MacBook Air ... Worthy purchase?

Discussion in 'Electronic Devices' started by antman157, Feb 23, 2014.

1. antman157

antman157 Loaded Pockets

Debating hard on getting an MacBook Air. I have an iPad air, but sometimes I just need that little bit more. I work in IT and have been traveling a lot, a laptop would be good to have on these trips ... I was looking at the 11" but one downfall is the SD card slot, so I am leaning towards the 13" 256gb model. Gonna bump the ram to 8gb

Who all has a MacBook Air? The things I will be doing mostly are: virtualize windows 8 for work programs, iTunes, streaming video, and maybe start learning a little code, and of course surfing EDCF

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

2. Knightrock
    • In Omnia Paratus

Knightrock EDC Junkie!!!!!

I guess one doesn't need an optical drive much anymore. You can get a stand alone one, I think. I've been thinking of getting one of these too. I've never had an Apple computer. Do you think they are worth the extra cost over a PC?

3. Mike Keith

Mike Keith Loaded Pockets

If you're going the MacBook route, one question to ask yourself is "Do I REALLY need the reduced weight of the Air?"

If you go for a regular MacBook Pro, you'll get a much better-specced machine at the same price point. Higher performance, same battery life, more weight. Depends which factors matter most to you.

sungame, atilano and antman157 like this.
  4. antman157

antman157 Loaded Pockets

I looked around best buy and from a price point, the ultra books are very close in price, maybe a couple hundred dollars cheaper. I've had several macs before, and I like them a lot. I'm more in it for the weight, I like to keep everything as light as I can

5. braswes

braswes Loaded Pockets