1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Lets talk rescue knives...

Discussion in 'Knives' started by phorsaken1, Jul 10, 2009.

1. phorsaken1

phorsaken1 Loaded Pockets

Hey guys first thread! I'm a firefighter/emt and I've decided it's time to invest in a decent rescue knife for work. I had a S&W First Responder, but the punch mechanism was ridiculous, so I sold it. I have since been carrying and el cheapo 12 dollar knockoff rescue knife, but it's definitely time to upgrade. I have my eye on the Gerber Hinderer Rescue, but I can't decide between the regular or the CLS version. I really like the oxygen wrench feature, I just can't decide on the blade style. My mind is not absolutely set on this knife, so I am willing to entertain any other suggestions for a rescue folder in the 75 to 100 dollar range. It must be good steel, at least partially serrated, and have glass breaking capabilities. An oxygen wrench and assisted opening would be a bonus, but not necessary. So, what say you, fellow edcer's? Any and all help is appreciated guys.

2. aguineapig

aguineapig Empty Pockets

Spyderco rescue. I believe those are VG-10 stainless, which is some really good stuff. Also most of the models can be found under 60 bucks.

3. wmcamp0

wmcamp0 Loaded Pockets

:iagree:

I use an Atlantic Salt SE for my rescue blade.

4. phorsaken1

I looked at the Spyderco's , but the model with the glass breaker was about $130. I'm also more of a thumb stud guy, but I LOVE their clips. Thanks guys for the suggestion, though. I will keep it in mind. :)

5. JIM
    • +3 Supporter

JIM Loaded Pockets

My opinion: Don't get a specific rescue-tool, just use the stuff on the engine/ambulance. I would just get a non-serrated folder for your bunker-gear, preferably something that's cheap enough to replace when needed.

6. phorsaken1