1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Interesting Research on Povidone Iodine

Discussion in 'First Aid Station' started by carry all 4 life, Nov 12, 2013.

1. carry all 4 life

carry all 4 life Loaded Pockets

Getting together a FAK, I found the following article while researching antiseptics:

"Effect of povidone-iodine on wound healing: a review"

"The varied studies provide evidence that in most instances, povidone-iodine did not effectively promote good wound healing; in fact, most studies showed either impaired wound healing, reduced wound strength, or infection."

So I guess this means in many cases simply cleaning the wound sufficiently is equally, if not more effective. Any thoughts? Suggestions for a better alternative?

2. Domain

Domain Loaded Pockets

Some use Saline Solution instead. I'm no expert in this though. I've been reading a lot of this type of stuff lately. Been working on about 3 different first aid kits.

3. Synaptic Misfire
    • In Omnia Paratus

Synaptic Misfire Loaded Pockets

Saline is great, I used it for post surgical wound care last year and I was amazed. Of course nothing beats good old isopropyl alcohol, the burn means its working!! Also bear in mind that something like 10% of the population is allergic to povidone-iodine as well, so if you kits are for the general public I suggest forgoing it.

TarHeelBrit likes this.
  4. ninja.medic

ninja.medic Loaded Pockets

I have heard the same thing a few times - specifically in the wilderness medicine arena. I would Definetly recommend saline or at least clean water - copious amounts or either one is ideal.

Ninja Medic
    (mel)

carry all 4 life likes this.
  5. Xiii
    • In Omnia Paratus

Xiii Loaded Pockets