1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Inova XS vs Fenix E05

Discussion in 'Flashlights & Other Illumination Devices' started by bryan123, Feb 16, 2016.

1. bryan123

bryan123 Loaded Pockets

Hi, I'm a newbie and this is my first question. I'm purchasing some flashlights because we had a power failure a week ago and I relied on the flashlight mode on my Droid Maxx to help me locate and light my candles.

I visited my local REI in Reading MA and saw the two "mini" AAA keychain LED flashlights, The Fenix E05 and the Inova XS. I want to buy one of these to carry on my keychain with my Leatherman Micra or SAK Cadet. At max brightness they are similar at 85 vs 80 Lumens. So far I'm partial to the Fenix because it can stand on a flat surface like a candle. I also like the way that it cycles from low to medium to high as opposed to the Inova's high to low. Starting at low would be an advantage if I were to drop something under my seat at the movie theatre for example...The Inova claims significantly longer battery life, longer distance, and could be made to stand up like a candle by standing it on a 5/8" split ring.

I watched a video on YouTube comparing both of them and the author used terms like hot spots, throw and spillage that I haven't learned yet.

Those of you who have used both, which would you prefer?

Thanks,

Bryan

2. mike3145

mike3145 Loaded Pockets

I haven't used the Inova although I kind of like the idea of a clicky tail. Wondering, though, if that might be accidentally pressed in pants pocket?? I bought the e05 a few months back and like it very much. Frankly, I use it a whole lot more than I ever thought I would and if I had a quibble, three levels of light are probably unnecessary. Starting on high or low in a general use flashlight is going to be a six of one, half dozen the other... sometimes you won't need a bright light and sometimes you will.