1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

How do you sharpen?

Discussion in 'Knives' started by Water-Rat, Mar 22, 2014.

?

How do you sharpen your knives?

1. Sharpening Stone

57 vote(s)
    41.6%
  2. Pull-through sharpener

10 vote(s)
    7.3%
  3. Clamp system (Lansky)

30 vote(s)
    21.9%
  4. Stones at a set angle (Sharpmaker)

51 vote(s)
    37.2%
  5. Electric Sharpener

6 vote(s)
    4.4%
  6. pocket sized stone or rod

18 vote(s)
    13.1%
  7. Ask or pay someone to sharpen for you

3 vote(s)
    2.2%
  8. Other

31 vote(s)
    22.6%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Water-Rat

Water-Rat Loaded Pockets

Hello, I am rather new to the whole carrying a knife thing, and I was wondering how some of you maintain your knives. I have never really had any instruction in sharpening and I'd like hear any tips and unique methods that you may have. Also, I don't have much in the way of sharpening devices right now, so any suggestions would be most welcome.

2. Stonerman33
    • In Omnia Paratus

Stonerman33 Loaded Pockets

When I was younger (Boy Scouts) I was decent enough with a set of flat bench stones that I could freehand a respectable edge onto a simple blade shape. I just caved in last week, actually, and bought myself a spyderco sharpmaker. Less than 10 minutes out of the box and my new to me manix2 was shaving hair off my arm. Pretty easy to figure out, and it even comes with a DVD to show you how to use it.

Sent from my Retina iPad Mini using Tapatalk

SAKplumber and Water-Rat like this.
  3. sterculius

sterculius Loaded Pockets

+1 for the Spyderco Sharpmaker. I can put a razor edge on most knives in 15 mins or less. Very easy to use and does a very nice job.

SAKplumber and Water-Rat like this.
  4. StAnger665

StAnger665 Loaded Pockets

DMT stones and sandpaper, freehand. Can be extremely frustrating and rewarding

SAKplumber and MJGEGB like this.
  5. captain howdy