1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Hi from Australia

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Abhi Beckert, Jun 5, 2019.

1. Abhi Beckert

Abhi Beckert Empty Pockets

G'day

I'm a software developer based in Cairns on the north east coast of Australia. I also volunteer as a stage manager at a local community theatre which is where most of my EDC interest comes from.

I'm informally on call if anything goes wrong at the theatre, and they operate all day and late into the night, so I try not to leave home without at least a multitool, a good torch, gaff tape (of course!) and a notepad.

My EDC:

* Gerber Center-Drive with a modified belt pouch (velcro replaced with elastic, so I can access it in silence)
    * Led Lenser MT10 with a blue colour filter and a grips safety tether - configured to produce 3 lumens of light output (with the colour filter fitted) on the first button press, for discrete operation
    * Pro-Gaff tape - full roll in my backpack and a small section wrapped around some cord on my keyring
    * Whitelines notebook and a black Zebra Sarassa 0.3mm pen
    * A cellular Apple watch, which I use like an electronic multitool. It tells the time reliably to the second. it makes phone calls and sends/receives text messages. It's got a built in torch. A calculator. Stopwatch. Emergency SOS functionality in-case I fall off a ladder working by myself at 4am... and the most importantly a voice assistant for taking notes when the notebook isn't handy.

When I'm stage managing a show, my EDC expands to a backpack with:

* A first aid kit stocked with the usual supplies, plus commonly medications (pain killers, antihistamines, etc)
    * Black shoes, black Gloves, black ankle length cargo pants, black long sleeve formal shirt that doesn't require ironing