1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Help with revolver accuracy

Discussion in 'Handguns' started by BubbaFett, Sep 2, 2016.

1. BubbaFett
    • In Omnia Paratus

BubbaFett Loaded Pockets

I try to hit the range a couple times a month as a minimum to stay practiced for carry and home protection. I mainly use 9mm semis--two Glocks and a Shield.

However, I picked up this beauty a while back and am fond of it. I'd like to carry it occasionally and have it be functional rather than just fun, but so far I have not been able to be near as accurate as my 9mm guns.

[​IMG]

With 9mm I am no bullseye artist but I can get it in the 8 or 9 ring at self defense distances. With .38, I am almost as accurate.

With .357, it is a different story. I'm about half on and half off the plate-sized Shoot N C targets. I'm honestly not sure if it is the recoil, the different platform, or what. I know anticipating recoil is a thing, focusing on the front target, etc.

Anyone else had this issue, and if so what helped?

2. 0dBm

0dBm Loaded Pockets

Self-fulfilling prophecy. You think that it will "kick like a mule" so you FLINCH and your groups suffer. Practice, grasshopper. It will take time. Good that you don't have a .44 Magnum in that size!

Wishoot, theotherroche and BubbaFett like this.
  3. BubbaFett
    • In Omnia Paratus

BubbaFett Loaded Pockets

It's an L-frame, but I take your point.

4. les snyder

les snyder Loaded Pockets

just in case it isn't you... get a .357dia factory jacketed bullet from a friend that re loads, and make sure that it passes through the throat of each chamber, and is not necked down before it enters the barrel...if you are using hand loads, and the reloader used too "hot" a powder, a melted base will cause keyholes and flyers at pretty close distances... I like 296 and H110 in .357mag YMMV

BubbaFett likes this.
  5. steviesterno

steviesterno Loaded Pockets