1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Help with purchasing my first Leatherman; Sidekick or a Wave

Discussion in 'MultiTools and Other Pocket Tools' started by wazza, Feb 29, 2016.

1. wazza

wazza Loaded Pockets

Hello,
    I'm looking at getting a Leatherman for my 30th, well to tell the wife to buy it for my Leatherman.
    Having looked at tons of reviews, photos and reviews.
    The purpose for the tool would be home use, taking it cycling, camping and possibly for work. I'm a trainee electrical engineer and don't need a big tool kit, just a couple of screwdrivers and an adjustable, so I'm thinking a Leatherman would be ideal and save me a massive walk to the stores for tools.
    Due to the possibility of work use, I was looking at the Rebar or Supertool 300, replaceable cutters, ideal. But I'm put off by the fact that when the blade is opened its sat in the middle of the tool, rather than flush with the side of the tool, if I'm making sense? Although I've never used one, I think this may annoy me, it obviously works as tons of people love them but just not for me.

So, I am thinking a Sidekick or a Wave. Obviously the sidekick is a lot cheaper, is this very noticeable, to cheap for work use?
    Does anybody have any comparing photos as when I've searched, all sorts of models pop up.
    If anyone has any advice, as I have no hands on experience with these, it would be appreciated.

Cheers
    Chris

Weej and alces like this.
  2. 313

313 Uber Prepared