1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Help me pick a jacket that is comparable to or better than US Mil Goretex parkas

Discussion in 'EDC Clothing' started by hannism, Dec 26, 2010.

1. hannism

hannism Loaded Pockets

I was in the Air Force a while back, and I had a Gen 1 Gore-Tex parka, that was comfortable and did the job with wind/water/cold protection.

That was several years ago, and I'm looking for a parka, that has a nice hood, and protects against wind/water/cold. Also, I want something that isn't in camo so I won't draw any attention to myself.

Is Gore-Tex still the way to go? Or is there something better to look for? What companies should I look at (North Face)?

2. themadplumbarian

themadplumbarian Loaded Pockets

3. vivek16

vivek16 Loaded Pockets

I have been using an m65 for a few months now as a winter jacket and it will keep you warm. It is heavier than goretex so I'll wait for others to chime in.

You should make sure you get the m51 hood attachment if you do go with an m65.

4. hatchetjack

hatchetjack EDC Junkie!!!!!

Look at the Patagonia MARS Dimension. It is not insulated but a light fleece will round it out in cold weather. The hood is huge to accomodate helmets but has a drawstring to adjust. I live in the Seattle area and it has kept me dry for 2 seasons. I add an extral layer when the temps dip below freezing.

http://iacmc.forumotion.com/t2734-patagonia-mars-level-5-jacket

5. themadplumbarian

I just came in from shoveling and snow blowing, we got 14" of snow, its 12deg and the winds are 15-25, with 40mph gusts, all i can say is im beat, i wore a pair of jeans over sweats, with a t-shirt, regular shoes and socks, my m-65 and those cheesy stretch gloves.. im roasting and i was out for 3hrs! those winds didn't cut threw the jacket at all, my cheeks are a little rosy but that's from taking the hood on and off. well worth it! JR

6. hannism