1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Help me pick a 5.11 bag in a hurry!

Discussion in 'EDC Bags' started by tinyblob, Sep 3, 2014.

1. tinyblob

tinyblob Loaded Pockets

Hi folks! Today I received my first 5.11 bag after a week of stressful decision making and forum scouring. I think I've made the wrong decision and I've got a few days to remedy the situation before going off on a trip.

My daily carry is a Belkin Evo laptop backpack (I don't know the rules for posting images here at the moment, but google will point you in the right direction) which I use to port an 11" Macbook Air, a bunch of cables (I work in IT), generally a portable games console, pair of shorts, spare t-shirt and a book. I'm sick of the bag, have bad shoulder pain and have been getting "acne mechanica" from the shoulder straps. It's got to go.

I want to get a 5.11 bag that'll do my daily commute, but that I'll be able to add a couple of changes of clothes for weekend visits, and I need to do it in the next few days!

I ordered a Rush 24 because it seemed to be approximately the same size as the Belkin that I'm used to. It arrived today and I'm not keen. Things I don't like about it:
    • Seems very large compared to what I'm used to. Main internal area is just a big space - which must be great for camping, but not so great for a daily commute as I'd love to have some pouches etc. It's also a big rectangular thing, I'm used to something a bit more... pear shaped.
    • My 11" laptop is way too small for the drawstring bit in the main pocket, and wouldn't be protected at all in the bag. It fits great in the water carrier, but it'd be nice to have options.
    • The zippers on the front admin area seem to stick a lot.
    • It doesn't open up clamshell style.
    • The chest belt on the straps isn't removable.