1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Headed to Africa

Discussion in 'EDC Bags' started by Zatx, Jan 8, 2015.

1. Zatx

Zatx Loaded Pockets

At the end of this year I'm leading a mission team to Tanzania for two weeks.

My load out will be built around the Maxpedition Fliegerduffel Adventure Bag. I'm an EMT so I'll have various medical related items stored/attached via pouches to the outside of the Fliegerduffel. Despite these attachements I'll still maintain the airline carry on requirements with the exception of one bag I feel is pretty important.... The Maxpedition 10x4 water bottle holder.

One of the main challenges of going to Africa is clean drinking water, so here is where I'm seeking the advice of all of you.

1.) What bottle/filtration system should I get that will fit in this bag.
    2.) How can I attach the water bottle holder to the Fliegerduffel in a way that it can be quickly removed so the bag will maintain its carry on dimensions?
    3.) Also looking for a metal cup that can go at the bottom of the water bottle compartment.

Last edited by Zatx, Jan 8, 2015
  2. TomWelch

TomWelch Loaded Pockets

Checkout the website Lonely Planet as a starting point.

3. Crippletron
    • GITD Manix 2XL Owner

Crippletron Loaded Pockets

I have this bag it's very versatile and durable.

4. Fire50

Fire50 Loaded Pockets

Theres a Skeletonized water bottle holder that attaches to molle by ITS Tactical. It can acomodate different size bottles, Jet boil, etc. I think Its great what your doing. Please post pics when you return.

5. sgt253

sgt253 Loaded Pockets

Check out Sawyer water filtration products. Perfect for your trip. Good luck.

6. baccar-3

baccar-3 Loaded Pockets

Steri-Pen used in conjunction with a Sawyer squeeze filter. (The point one system).

7. Hi its me

Hi its me Loaded Pockets