1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Griptilians, Griptilikins and Ritters are they worth it?

Discussion in 'Knives' started by panzer, Aug 12, 2008.

1. panzer

panzer Loaded Pockets

I know lots of folks love these knives. But I have no experience with them and would love to hear what makes them great. And what is the best ones to get? Is the Ritter better then the standard? Is the Griptilikin conversion worth the extra cash or is it putting pearls on a pig?? :help:

2. greenLED

greenLED Empty Pockets

I think they're awesome value for the money. I have a full size Grip and a couple of mini-grips. The mini-grip is more than enough size for my needs (outdoors, casual box opening, etc.).

What makes them so popular, I think, is the combination of good quality materials, excellent construction, AMAZING locking mechanism, and hard to beat CS from Benchmade.

I've heard the shape of the Ritter makes it heavier, sturdier... better. but it also has a different (harder, IIRC) steel. I'm not that much of a a knifenut to justify the added price.

The conversion looks gorgeous, but for the investment, might as well buy a fancier custom knife.

My 2 cents, of course.

3. panzer

panzer Loaded Pockets

Fair enough, thanks for the input!

4. stillphoto

stillphoto Loaded Pockets

The griptilikin is nice looking but yeah, it doesnt change the ability of the knife any. That isn't stopping me from wanting it. The griptilians are notoriously a pain in the :censored: to make new handle scales for.

I've found the mini is enough blade for my needs as well. I just posted in the "show us your sharps" thread a picture of it, reground by knifemaker Tom Krein. It's a whole new knife now.

5. souptree

souptree Loaded Pockets