1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Employees coming into work sick. Good or Bad? A poll.

Discussion in 'The Breakroom' started by ldablo41, Oct 9, 2014.

?

Employees coming into work sick. Good or Bad? A poll.

1. I go to work sick

30.5%
  2. I stay home when sick

59.3%
  3. My manager expects me to come in when sick

15.3%
  4. My manager expects me to stay away when sick

32.2%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. ldablo41

ldablo41 Banned

My Dad seems to think there is virtue in coming into work when he is sick / contagious. It shows he is tough. A good soldier. He's old school.

I think he's being a jerk and am not impressed. Stay home until you are better. Why risk taking down several other employees with your illness and destroying productivity for your company?

As a manager, I would send any sick employee home and tell them not to pull that crap again. But my Dad doesn't listen to a word I say. He thinks you are weak-willed if you don't come in.

So what kind of employee are you?

Do you go to work when sick?

Do you stay home?

I understand if you don't have a good choice and must go in. And that sucks. I think that's poor management.

Multiple responses are allowed. Please check which best describes your situation.

2. Firemedic679

Firemedic679 Loaded Pockets

In my line of work i get 400+ hours of paid sick time a year so im not going in if i am sick. Also, if my Captain or chief notice your sick and you came in they will send you home and you dont have a choice. Some guys will "tough" it out if they are low on hours but they always get caught. Haha. Not to mention why risk getting co-workers or people we run calls on sick. Its a safety and disease prevention kind of thing for us.

3. tmedina

tmedina EDC Junkie!!!!!