1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Emerson EDC-2 vs. SAKs

Discussion in 'MultiTools and Other Pocket Tools' started by jiji, Aug 9, 2014.

1. jiji

jiji Loaded Pockets

I've been carrying a SAK every day for more than 10 years - usually Yeoman, Compact or Alox Soldier. But after seeing Emerson EDC-2 I'm tempted to get that to replace my SAK as EDC. Without having handled an EDC-2, I can see the following pros and cons compared to a SAK:

Cons:
    - longer
    - heavier

Pros:
    - the blade and all tools lock
    - drivers lock into 90 degree position
    - bigger blade
    - a really good selection of tools for my needs

I'd still carry a Minichamp, so I'd still have scissors and tweezers on me.

Anyone of you who has been EDCing EDC-2, how would you compare it to a SAK? Is it worth the price? Having used to Swiss quality, will I be disappointed?

Thanks for all the opinions in advance.

2. dabluestuff

dabluestuff Uber Prepared

I love the edc-2 I have been locking into those recently. I say go for it

3. FL Woods Bum
    • In Omnia Paratus

FL Woods Bum Your Grace!

I would add a Cons and Pros:

Cons:
    - 440C blade at that price (I have never had a 440C blade I liked, it's an expensive piece of cheap stainless in this knife, and I am not a steel snob)

Pros:
    - Pocket Clip (although you can add one to a SAK, it's nice to have one natively)

I actually got interested in one of these when the big Knife Annual came out this year, but I quickly lost interest after finding out it was 440C for that price. They at least could have gone with D2, it's cheap enough.

powerring and Shawn Ogg like this.
  4. MJGEGB

MJGEGB Loaded Pockets