1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

EDGE PRO owners..

Discussion in 'Knives' started by arevalo, Mar 29, 2012.

1. arevalo

arevalo Empty Pockets

I've finally decided to take a plunge and get an Edge Pro.

$250 is my max, making the chosera kit out of my budget. I'm trying to decide between kit #3 or kit#4. How often do you guys use the polishing tape? Or do I go with Kit #1 and add your recommended favorite/essential stones?

Thanks in advance.

2. IMWILSON
    • GITD Manix 2XL Owner
    • In Omnia Paratus

IMWILSON EDC Wizard

Well I'm not an Edge Pro owner nor do I have any experience with the product. I just bought a small 1x30 belt sander from Harbor Freight.
    It cost all of $40.00. I spent another $20.00 or so on belts, even got a leather strop belt. A little practice and it does great.

3. Mumbojumboo
    • GITD Manix 2XL Owner

Mumbojumboo EDC Junkie!!!!!

I use a worksharp to the get it close and then work in by hand. for what is is worth?

[​IMG]
    mumbo sharp2 by mumbojumboo, on Flickr

4. FunctionMode

FunctionMode Loaded Pockets

If you're set on an edge pro get #3, that's what I have and it works pretty well. I got an edge pro because I thought freehand sharpening would be hard, but as it turns out it's very easy and for me is faster and more enjoyable.

I'd recommend a good leather strop (I like stropman.com) and some wet/dry sandpaper in grits ranging from 220-1000 or a a selection of stones. More often than not a strop is all you need to get your edge back and when you do need to sharpen you have the sandpaper or stones

5. willydigger

willydigger Loaded Pockets

Tell me more of this Worksharp tool? I'm interested for polishing and I read it can use belts with 3600 and 12000grit? Is is variable speed? Can you use it wet? How long do the belts last?

6. willydigger

willydigger Loaded Pockets

Double post.

7. jcc

jcc Banned