1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Does anyone EDC a portable jump starter in their vehicle?

Discussion in 'Electronic Devices' started by DSRacing, Mar 7, 2018.

1. DSRacing

DSRacing Loaded Pockets

Last December I purchased a portable battery pack with a jump start capability for my truck. I've always carried jumper cables in my personal vehicles but Murphy's law dictates no one will be around when you need a jump.

I had been researching these products for a few months and finally decided this one would be a good choice.

http://www.batterychargers.com/sl1316/

I found it on sale at my local home improvement center and I purchased a second one for my oldest son as a Christmas gift. Fast forward to this past Monday and I had the unique opportunity to assist an LE Officer whose patrol car wouldn't start. As he was rolling out his jumper cables, I grabbed the battery pack I offered to help. I was pleased to see the battery still had 100% charge after nearly 4 months. I took a minute to attach the clamps and the car turned right over on the first try.

With a happy deputy back on patrol, a few bystanders inquired about the battery pack as they had never seen one and were impressed how well it worked.

So my question is, who else has one of these units in their vehicle and have you had the opportunity to use it yet?

WillAdams likes this.
  2. EZDog

EZDog EDC Junkie!!!!!

I have these in each vehicle and I also have full sized models in the trucks.
    My experience with these small Lithium Battery powered versions has been about 50% success honestly but the older school units with big batteries work every time for me.