1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Confession: I EDC a Hobo Knife

Discussion in 'Knives' started by post tenebras, Aug 21, 2021.

1. post tenebras

post tenebras Loaded Pockets

I'm a full-grown professional who has never lacked for eating utensils; nevertheless, a hobo knife has driven all others out of my normal rotation.

This is a recent development. The pandemic imbued me with a heightened awareness of infection control resulting in a desire to avoid eating with my fingers whenever possible. I used to be a normal person who ate fruit hand-to-mouth, but now I cut it up and spear the pieces, untouched by human hands.

Then, late one night, I embarrassingly impulse bought a cheap Chinese FURY MUSTANG NOBILITY! two-piece hobo knife (for twelve bucks you would be hard pressed to find a more regal and high horse-powered product name). I took it on a road trip and fell in love with the form factor, forking fast-food fries like a fastidious fool with my foully fitted and finished friend.

Being an EDC nerd, I commenced the quest to replace the pakkawood and pot metal FURY MUSTANG NOBILITY! with a higher-quality two-piece hobo. I liked the minimalist design and had no desire to add unnecessary bulk with a spoon (I'm looking at you, heavy half-pound, 1" thick Case Hobo) or a corkscrew (I'm not in the Swiss Army). I came *this* close to ordering the delightful A.G. Russell Boxcar Jack, but I balked at spending $80+ to support another Red Chinese manufacturer.