1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

    Please visit following page for more information

    Dismiss Notice

Computer trouble

Discussion in 'Electronic Devices' started by PBJS II, Jul 31, 2020.

  1. PBJS II

    PBJS II Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    18,343
    Maybe a week ago there were 4 or 5 power blips. The computer died each time.
    I have a net gear wifi dongle and just bought another at Wallyworld.
    Neither one will attach to the network.
    The smart TV and phones all work well.
    I've tried different USB ports. Everything right up to push the button to connect works. The LED even flashes like it should.
    Where do I go from here? I could PROBABLY run an Ethernet cable to it.
    The wall between me and the modem is a brick wall. Formerly the outside wall of the house. But I could drill through it.
    But not even sure an Ethernet cable is the answer.


    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
     
  2. ThaMac

    ThaMac Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Plug it in. Go to Device Manager and uninstall the driver, but don’t delete it. Reboot wIth the dongle plugged in. Windows should register the dongle and reinstall the driver. Try to connect again.


    Austria est imperare orbi universo.
     
    jbj likes this.
  3. PBJS II

    PBJS II Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    18,343
    So far no good.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
     
  4. ran23
    • In Omnia Paratus

    ran23 Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5,931
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    When it dies, no USP backing it up? I even keep some old ones on flat screens around the house, but this new neighborhood is better about AC fails.
     
  5. ThaMac

    ThaMac Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Do they work with a different computer?


    Austria est imperare orbi universo.
     
  6. PBJS II

    PBJS II Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    18,343
    No way of knowing. Not made of money.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
     
  7. tera tike

    tera tike Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    52
    Try powering down the WiFi router for a few minutes. After powering it back up try connecting.
    What operating system are you on?
    Does your WiFi network show in your network list?
    If not, with the USB WiFi plugged in, go to your device manager and delete the WiFi devices (just as ThaMac stated) but check delete the device drivers. Then unplug all the USB devices.
    Reboot the computer with any USB devices. After it has powered up plugin the WiFi USB. Check and see if it show a network list.
    Good Luck
     
  8. PBJS II

    PBJS II Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    18,343
    The wifi works the TV and phones.
    Not sure I can disable it for 10 minutes.
    I do see the network list.
    It all has to happen after work.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
     
  9. ThaMac

    ThaMac Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Could’ve been you know someone with a laptop to try. But yeah, power cycling stuff is never wrong.


    Austria est imperare orbi universo.
     
  10. tera tike

    tera tike Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    52
    No need for 10 minutes just 1 will do just to clear the device. It might think you are connected so it will not let you connect again.
     
  11. ccwaters

    ccwaters Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    809
    Sometimes when you have brown outs, or repeat power outs your network system may get confused and screw with IP addresses. I'm not a pro, but have had similar issues over the years.

    It may not be your issue, but if it is, or you haven't already tried, release and renew the ip of your pc, normally this is done automatically, but sometimes it can be an issue.

    To renew your IP address:
    1. Open windows command prompt Start\ Run\cmd\ok.
    2. To release your Ip address ipconfig/release. Enter.
    3. To renew your IP address ipconfig/renew.
     
    jag-engr and echo victor like this.
  12. PBJS II

    PBJS II Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    18,343
    When I shut down the Wifi for a couple minutes and had all the USB stuff out....
    I plugged in the dongle and showed signal.
    I pushed the button on the dongle and lost it. Normally it has a blinking LED. But with it solidly on I have a working computer again.
    Thanks for all your help!

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
     
  13. ThaMac

    ThaMac Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    The “Troubleshooting” for network does this and other stuff and is easy to use for anyone. Just FYI.


    Austria est imperare orbi universo.
     
    jag-engr likes this.
  14. ccwaters

    ccwaters Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    809
    I've also had the troubleshooting fail to solve simple issues like renewing IP and having to do so manually. My latest annoyance was with Win10 not allowing apps to access a mic, and having the setting that needed to be changed greyed out.
     
    jag-engr likes this.
  15. tera tike

    tera tike Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    52
    Happy you was able to resolve it.
     
    PBJS II likes this.
  16. Moshe ben David

    Moshe ben David Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    5,991
    Likes Received:
    7,182
    I really hate Win10. Not on my machine... I'm a Mac user. My wife's company set her up with a laptop etc for working from home. Yup. Win10. She's constantly panicking over its complexity and wants me to resolve all issues... Mostly beyond me. Some due not to Win10 but it running in conjunction with Chrome and a bunch of proprietary systems and databases... she's a stockbroker...., aka the world's biggest corrupt Casino!

    Am Yisrael Chai!

    Moshe ben David
     
    ccwaters likes this.
  17. PBJS II

    PBJS II Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Likes Received:
    18,343
    I'm still running 7 (with no more updates)
    But then I use Firefox for all my web sites.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
     
  18. ccwaters

    ccwaters Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    809

    I much prefer 7, 10 is basically a bloated piece of spyware that disguises itself as an OS! Sadly drivers, or lack there of for new hardware has forced me to use it on my latest machine build! I still run 7 on everything else.
     
  19. tera tike

    tera tike Loaded Pockets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    52
    I prefer Firefox too, since Chrome is now basically spyware too, just my opinion.

    Do not forget to uncheck the data collection that Firefox uses located to the Options -> Privacy and Security -> Firefox Data Collection and Use -> Allow Firefox to send technical and interaction data to Mozilla.

    Oh how I miss Win7, but most of my developer software now only runs with Win10.

    Very true that WIn10 is a bloated piece of spyware. One of the first things I do is remove 90% of the apps(even the one they say you can not) and run a software program called O&O ShutUp10 to lessen the spyware abilities of Win10. You need to run the ShutUp10 after every Win10 update since the updates try's to reset your privacy settings.
     
    ccwaters and echo victor like this.
  20. jag-engr
    • Administrator

    jag-engr Semper Bufo!
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,499
    Likes Received:
    4,032
    I have 7 Pro on my home computer and 10 Pro on my work computer. I definitely prefer 7.
     
    Moshe ben David and ccwaters like this.