1. Please update your bookmarks to use https://www.edcforums.com/
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Comparison Review: Leatherman MUT vs Multitasker Series 3

Discussion in 'Gear Reviews' started by chaosmagnet, Apr 28, 2017.

1. chaosmagnet
    • GITD Manix 2XL Owner
    • In Omnia Paratus

chaosmagnet Loaded Pockets

First, a note about me. I am a part-time firearms instructor and competitive shooter. I've never been in law enforcement or the military. While my evaluation of these AR-15 focused multitools is based on a lot of experience with the AR-15 platform I've never been in any kind of gunfight, and I hope I never will be.

Also, a note about multitools and my relationship with them. I have a lot of multitools, including about 20 various Leatherman products. You could legitimately call me a Leatherman fanboy. Some of these multis are safe queens, others have seen heavy use, and a few have been badly abused. Don't come back to me and say that I concealed my biases from you.

Finally, a note about the tools tested here. I bought a Leatherman MUT new in 2012, and it arrived with some QC problems: the plastic piece the punch rests on was broken, and the bit-holder was WAY WAY too tight -- it was replaced promptly under warranty with Black Oxide version (an upgrade I was glad to have). The replacement unit has been my constant range companion since and has seen heavy use in that environment. I don't carry it except on the range. The Multitasker Series 3 has been discontinued; I found mine new on a popular online auction site. I evaluated the MUT based on five years of use and the Multitasker on about five days in my home office, so please keep that in mind.

[​IMG]
    gif image host