1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Changing Paracord on backpack zippers

Discussion in 'EDC Bags' started by Obscenejesster, Aug 11, 2013.

1. Obscenejesster

Obscenejesster Loaded Pockets

I would like to change the paracord zipper pulls on one of my 5.11 bags but I've never done this before. I've decided that I just don't want Paracord only and I would like to use some sort of zipper pull tab.

Does anyone know where I can find these zipper pull tabs in different designs and colors?

Also, is there a tutorial here that outlines the process such as which knots can be used?

In the picture below, I have drawn a red square around what I am referring to as zipper pull tabs.

[​IMG]

2. Knightrock
    • In Omnia Paratus

Knightrock EDC Junkie!!!!!

CountyComm may have some.

3. TARFU
    • In Omnia Paratus

TARFU EDC!!!!! Junkie

You're making it really hard on yourself. You don't need tabs if you're using paracord. Use gutted or non-gutted paracord, tie the knot of your choice, and you're done. Stormdrane's blog is a great source for different knots. The lanyard knot is an easy one..

http://stormdrane.blogspot.com/2008/05/how-to-tie-lanyard-knot.html

But really any simple knot with 550 paracord will provide the equivalent to a tab so you can get a hold on a pull. Pairing it with heat shrink tubing (like GoRuck uses on their packs) is a great addition also.

4. Jerry L

Jerry L EDC Junkie!!!!!

5. TARFU
    • In Omnia Paratus

TARFU EDC!!!!! Junkie

BTW, the pulls on the 5.11 bags are NOT paracord. In fact, I cut them off when I remove them and toss them in the garbage.

6. Obscenejesster

That's what I was planning one doing. I'll be honest. I just want to change the color. I don't really care if it's 550 Paracord or shoe string I replace them with. They are only zipper pulls. It's not like I'm going to be exerting extreme amounts of force upon them.

7. TARFU