1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Carried for the first time

Discussion in 'General EDC Discussion' started by Chicago-Spike, Apr 2, 2014.

1. Chicago-Spike

Chicago-Spike Loaded Pockets

As my title says, I am no longer a virgin. I got my Crossbreed horsehide and decided it was time to start. So my son and I went on some errands to some local stores that I knew allowed CCW and walked in. I can say it changed me and my thinking a lot. I was a firefighter/PM years ago and I have been riding motorcycles for decades so I already have the habit of scanning my surroundings IE. looking for extinguishers and exits and such and just plain watching. But as I was more conscious of what I had on my person I was scanning the people more in depth to see if the noticed me and I was glancing at their hips to see if I could see printing on them. Good behavior to teach yourself IMHO.
    I was an uptight driver before, swearing and talking out loud to the other cars pointing out their flaws in vehicle handling skills or lack thereof. But my wife pointed out to me that I seemed to be more calm now behind the wheel, and to me that's a good thing. So, my guess is that because I have this responsibility on my hip, my inner brain had reverted back to my fire engine driving days where I was more focused on my responsibilities to get the truck to a scene and the bad drivers that wouldn't pull over or just stopped in front of the truck meant nothing to me. I'll keep better track of this as I move on as a CCW person for sure.