1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Bus Driver in Seattle

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by kd7dvd, Aug 22, 2011.

1. kd7dvd
    • GITD Manix 2XL Owner
    • In Omnia Paratus

kd7dvd EDC Junkie!!!!!

Hi, all!

Name here is Chris, and I'm a municipal bus driver in Seattle. I have my set of EDC-ware, but only when I discovered this forum did I discover that people ... uh ... obsessed about their EDC stuff.

It's been very educational.

The forum seems to concentrate on what people carry and how they carry it, but there's one thing I want to know:

WHY do you carry the gear you carry? Is it for your job? For your recreational life? For social paranoia?

For my job I carry a Leatherman Wave, a flashlight, a sales clipboard, some forms, an orange vest, and a small first aid kit. I'd carry a gun but it seems that, in Seattle, the only person not allowed to pack is the bus driver. (If you carry a gun, why? [hint: "Because the Constitution says I can" is a wonderful reason, but let's get past that, OK? Why do you really pack?])

For myself (not at work) I carry a netbook computer, a small camera (in addition to the cell phone camera) and a VHF/UHF amateur radio. Also a reflex hammer to scare off muggers. ;D

Other stuff, too, (Rite-in-the-Rain pads, SKILCRAFT--US GOVERNMENT pens, etc)

So, again, what's your place in the world that causes you to carry what you carry?

Amos Harrison likes this.
  2. CatherineM
    • In Omnia Paratus

CatherineM Loaded Pockets

I have always carried I think. As far back as I can remember. The night I was born, my dad was at home because a tornado blew out our front windows. That really was a precursor in many ways. I've been in some bad situations, and my being prepared kept them from going from bad to horrific.

3. MedusaOblongata

MedusaOblongata Loaded Pockets

Hey.