1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Backpack for covering kids sports

Discussion in 'First Aid Station' started by marbiol, Sep 13, 2014.

1. marbiol

marbiol Loaded Pockets

I'm an EMT and I have a trauma bag, but I might be doing some general cover for kids sporting events in the near future. I'm looking for a backpack to use for my kit and I'd like to find something that will fit a good general kit with good organization without costing a lot.

I won't have O2 so don't need to fit that and probably won't need to fit a BVM... Just general bandaids, gauze, pads,bandages, wipes, SAM splints, pocket masks and airways etc.

If I was sitting I'd probably just bring the big bag, but since I'll likely be moving around, I thought it would be nice to have a pack. Opening flat would also be a bonus, but not essential if I can see in easily...

2. VinceRN

VinceRN Loaded Pockets

I used to work high school football games as an EMT in the early '90s. I carried too much dressing stuff, the year I did it I only did a few small dressings and my trauma bag was half dressing stuff. SAM splints are definitely a good idea, wrist injuries were common, as were finger injuries. Ace wraps and ice packs are used a lot doing that.

As far as big injuries, be thinking in terms of care you have to provide waiting for EMS. They will being plenty of the big stuff.

A pen and pad to write stuff down is alway a good idea.

Plenty of water is usually available, and a lot of the kids are not drinking enough, sometimes sitting down for a few minutes and drinking a liter of water is all they need.