1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

Another "help me buy a watch" thread

Discussion in 'Watches' started by Buckethead1903, Feb 18, 2011.

1. Buckethead1903

Buckethead1903 Loaded Pockets

Hey everyone,

I am suddenly looking for a new EDC watch. Currently on my wrist is a Suunto X-Lander which, despite my high hopes, has turned out to be a BIG disappointment. It was replaced once under warranty because the display faded and now the new one has done the same thing after only 4 months. I am out of the 2 year warranty window so a free replacement is off the table.

Prior to the Suunto I wore a Casio for 15 years.

I am a 49 year old firefighter/paramedic which means I am very tough on watches and I need one that I can read at "oh dark-thirty" in the back of a moving truck. So, I'm looking for a fairly large face that is either back-lit or has Tritium markers on it. I'd like to keep it in the "around $200" range.

So, what are my options??

2. Lemmez

Lemmez Loaded Pockets

Night shot:[​IMG]

3. marsos52

marsos52 Loaded Pockets

as i was reading your thread the luminox watches came to my mind..then the forst reply to your post is for luminox

i dont own, but my brother does and it is amazing in every way..lumes like crazy.. too...

4. Buckethead1903

Buckethead1903 Loaded Pockets

When I bought the Suunto I had looked long and hard at the Luminox but ultimately decided against them because of the size.....they were just to small. The Blackout looks like it's got a large face so, I will definitely give it a "hands on" look.

5. cameraman

cameraman Loaded Pockets

I'm a Luminox aficionado, so I say check out Luminox. Spend the money and get the steel case. I'm hard on watches and mine has lasted almost 10 years (admittedly with a trip back to the factory for a broken crystal, and a general overhaul for good measure).

6. Monocrom

Monocrom Loaded Pockets