1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

A message to the Shills.

Discussion in 'General EDC Discussion' started by amacman, Apr 5, 2013.

1. amacman
    • In Omnia Paratus

amacman Loaded Pockets

Hello,

If you don't know me, allow me to briefly introduce myself. I'm a member and a proud supporter here. I have a business degree in management and marketing, with some psychology thrown in for good measure. I have meet Jon briefly, and interacted with him here on the forum. I have no financial stake in the forum at all. In the 3 plus years I have been a member, I have been impressed by the sincerity, generosity, and camaraderie on constant display here. There are countless forums on the net, but none match the sense of community that exists here.

Not clear on what a shill is? Read this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shill

The below is an expression of my opinions and viewpoints, it has not been approved, requested, or even seen by anyone else prior to my posting. For all I know, Jon or a mod may choose to remove it them selves.

Now, to the point. For those of you that are here to "shill" the forum or otherwise promote interest in yours or someone else's product, you should stop. Now. Even if you are an "independent product rep" you should stop.

Here's a few reasons why:

It's unethical. You are stealing from Jon, the forum owner. Your are unfairly diluting the quality of the product he is delivering to paid advertiser/sponsors. Do you want to promote your product on the forum? Talk to Jon, he is a fair person, and will be happy to negotiate a deal that benefits you both. If you can't work out a deal with Jon, then the next point is extremely relevant.