1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

551-1 a worthy upgrade from 551?

Discussion in 'Knives' started by SkepticalTactical, Jun 4, 2016.

?

551-1 or 551

1. 551-1

44.4%
  2. 551

55.6%
  1. SkepticalTactical

SkepticalTactical Empty Pockets

Hello!

This post will have two sections: backstory (if you have time) and the actual question. The actual question is like a tl;dr for people that are very busy.

Backstory
    I'm a poor student who doesn't have a job that gives a steady income. I have been looking for a edc-folder that is well made and the company that made it has a great warranty and customer service. I buy almost all of my knives from lamia.com because it's Finnish company that offers a wide variety of knives with a free shipping. Griptilians have intrigued me for a while because almost every person who owns it have complimented it. When I was checking the BM Griptilian 551 out I noticed that there's a "premium" model 551-1 with "superior" steel and G-10 handle scales.

Actual question
    551-1 is about 100€ more than the normal 551, is it better option though?

2. leigh_ratcliffe

leigh_ratcliffe Loaded Pockets

Is it S30V or 154CM?
    Personally, if You want something better than a normal 551, consider a Rittergrip in S30V. I own both. 154CM is a good steel but S30V is outstanding.

3. SkepticalTactical

Lamnia.com doesn't sell it, 551-1 has CPM-20CV which is probably better than 154cm.

4. IHateBottleOpeners

IHateBottleOpeners EDC Junkie!!!!!