1. Are you a current member with account or password issues?

Please visit following page for more information

Dismiss Notice

154CM - CTS-BD1 (BM's steel vs CS's steel)

Discussion in 'Knives' started by SkepticalTactical, Jun 5, 2016.

?

154CM or CTS-BD1

1. 154CM > CTS-BD1

50.0%
  2. 154CM < CTS-BD1

50.0%
  3. CPM-20CV > CTS-XHP

25.0%
  4. CPM-20CV < CTS-XHP

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. BM's customer service < Cold Steel's

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. BM's customer service > Cold Steel's

25.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. SkepticalTactical

SkepticalTactical Empty Pockets

Hello!

I have been browsing my local knife shop's website for a while now (lamnia.com, also international). I have established this fact on a previous thread but for the everybody else I'm a student who's main source of money are chores and good grades.

Cold Steel's knives folders especially have a reputation of being strong and long-lasting. Benchmade is also a company that has same characteristics as Cold Steel but maybe more better in the customer service-department than CS.

They both have great selection of knives and both have a consumer and a "premium" model of a folder, first models that come to mind is 551 and it's "upgraded" model 551-1 and Voyager and a Voyager with CTS-BD1.

Benchmade's consumer and "premium" knives have a larger gap in-between than Cold Steel's. On lamnia.com 551's price is 111€ (shipping included) and it's premium model has a price difference of about 100€ which makes it a 201€. I asked if G-10 handle scales and CPM-20CV is worth of 100€ and most members said that no, it isn't. Cold Steel's Voyager (large) sells at about 90€ but the website doesn't sell the AUS-8-version.

This is a very fragmented question but bear with me.

If I buy a "normal" 551, can I replace the blade afterwards? If the blade damages BM's customer service said that it'll be replaced or resharpened, depending on the damage.