1. Are you a current member with account or password issues? Email us with username, email & what the issue is.

jacobwilson99's MT16 CTS-XHP project

Discussion in 'Do-It-Yourself & Gear Modifications' started by jacobwilson99, Dec 28, 2012.

jacobwilson99 Loaded Pockets

Hey guys.
    This is gonna be an ongoing thread in which I will showcase my latest project and beg for advice and instruction. This is my first time doing something like this and I'm excited.

Gonna be making scales for my new Spyderco Mule Team in CTS-XHP.

Here's day one.

I made a stencil of it out of oak using my Dremel set that I turned into a router table.
    It's not the most perfect stencil. I definitely got better as it as I went on.

I might have to do another stencil later.

My plans are to finish it with some polished Unidirectional Carbon Fiber. To get there though I'll need to practice making a few different scales in some different materials. Anywho. Here's some pics.

[IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]

Stay tuned!
    • +4 Supporter
    • In Omnia Paratus

SAKplumber Meowderator

Perscribed! ;)
    jacobwilson99 likes this.

Ogre Banned

oh man, cool stuff. i am going to buy one of those dremel press dealies soon, with the intent of trying my hand at making scales. im interested to see how this goes for you. maybe i will wait until i see what kind of things you run into. good luck!

I'm probably not gonna use the dremel to shape the scales. Maybe to put a pattern into them, but using the small rounded bits would be tough shaping whole scales, IMO.

BUT, the dremel press is totally worth it. I considered the router table attachment, but if you lower the bit into the center hole, it's effectively the same thing. YMMV.

willydigger Loaded Pockets